GWDA223 Intermediate Web Page Scripting :: Art Institute

Course Overview

Synopsis

Complete Syllabus:

GWDA223

Class Meetings Wednesdays
8:00am-noon
Session Spring 2013
Instructor Dawn Pedersen
Email [email protected]
Phone 916-320-1371

Course Description

An exploration of the process of Web design from proposal to production –students design and produce Web sites with Web editing software.

Course Competencies

Upon successful completion of this course, the student should be able to:

  • Design layouts for a web page.
  • Successfully convert Pantone colors into web colors.
  • Develop logically-structured web pages in Dreamweaver or similar program.
  • Identify the essential elements of successful page navigation.
  • Create workable links between portions of a page.
  • Animate graphical content.
  • Construct a form document.

Course Prerequisite

MM1123 Fundamentals of Web-based Programming

Process for Evaluation

  • Participation/Work Ethic 10%
  • Assignments and Exercises 50%
  • Mid-Term Project/Examination 15%
  • Final Project/Examination 25%

Recommended Text

Ethan Watrall and Jeff Siarto, Head First Web Design. O'Reilly Medi, 2008. ISBN-13: 978-0596520304.

Course Outline

IMPORTANT NOTE: Assignments not completed in class will be assigned as homework. This schedule may change based on class experience and instructor’s discretion.

Week Class Dates Topic Assignment Summary File Name Points Due Date
1 04/03/13 HTML Review, HTML5 and CSS3 Review Site review-site.zip 20 04/10/13
midnight
Project Overview Project Overview.doc 20
2 04/10/13 Dreamweaver Review Dreamweaver Review dw-review.zip 30
midnight
Proposal Proposal.doc 20
3 04/17/13 User-Centered Design Wireframes wireframes.zip 10 04/24/13
midnight
Sitemap sitemap.xxx 10
Storyboard storyboard.xxx 15
Mood Board moodboard.xxx 15
4 04/24/13 Color, Texture & Pattern Kuler Design kuler.zip 25 05/01/13
midnight
Background Tile background-tile.psd 20
test-pattern.psd 5
MIDTERM PROJECT midterm.zip 150
5 05/01/13 Scripting and CSS Tricks MyGallery mygallery.zip 20 05/08/13
midnight
Son of Suckerfish Menu suckerfish.zip 30
6 05/08/13 Writing for the Web Cosumnes River Preserve Article CosumnesRiver Preserve.docx 20 05/15/13
midnight
My About Page about.doc 30
7 05/15/13 Web Typography Google Fonts google-fonts.zip 15 05/22/13
midnight
FontSquirrel fontsquirrel.zip 15
CSS Boilerplate boilerplate.zip 20

8

05/22/13 From PSD to HTML Toddler Site toddler-site.zip 50 05/29/13
midnight
9 05/29/13 File Management Cat Hats Site cat-hats.zip 40 06/05/13
midnight
Cat Hats Site Map cat-hats-site-map.xxx 10
10 06/05/13 Responsive Design Responsive Design responsive.zip 40 06/12/13
noon
11 06/12/13 Final Project Lab FINAL PROJECT final.zip 250
Attendance * 11 Weeks 110
TOTAL POINTS 1000