MM1111 Design Layout :: Art Institute

Course Overview

Synopsis

Complete Syllabus

Class Meetings Wednesdays, 8:00am-noon
Session Winter 2013
Instructor Dawn Pedersen
Email [email protected]
Phone 916-320-1371

Course Description

An introduction to the basic principles of systems and structures of digital layout. Students will learn the principles of layout for creating effective visual compositions.

Course Competencies

Upon successful completion of this course, the student should be able to:

  • Apply design principles to create effective visual communications.
  • Understand and apply principles of grid structures and visual systems to digital layouts.
  • Create drawings, comps and storyboards, to plan and convey visual concepts.
  • Use problem-solving strategies to complete the creative process from concept development through revisions to final output.

Course Prerequisite

FS102 Fundamentals of Design

Process for Evaluation

  • Attendance and Participation 10%
  • Weekly Exercises 20%
  • Biweekly Projects 60% (15% each)
  • Final Project 10%

Recommended Text

The Principles of Beautiful Web Design, 2nd Edition by Jason Beaird, SitePoint, 2010, ISBN 098057689X

Course Outline & Assignments

IMPORTANT NOTE: Assignments not completed in class will be assigned as homework. This schedule may change based on class experience and instructor’s discretion.

Week Class Date Topic Assignment Summary File Name Points Due Date
1 01/09/13 What Is Layout? Beginning Home Page Layout beginning-
web-layout.pdf
50 01/16/13
midnight
Home Page Critique home-page-
critique.doc
20
2 01/16/13 Using Grids for Web Layout News Site Wireframes news-site-
wireframes.zip
10 01/23/13
midnight
News Site Mockup: Project 1, Version 1 news-site-v1.pdf 60
News Site Design Defense news-site-
defense.doc
10
3 01/23/13 Design Principles Design Principles Critique principles.doc 30 01/30/13
midnight
News Site Mockup: Project 1, Version 2 news-site-v2.pdf 50
4 01/30/13 Point, Line and Shape Workshop Site Storyboard storyboard.xxx 10 02/06/13
midnight
Workshop Site Mockup: Project 2, Version 1 workshop-site-v1.pdf 70
5 02/06/13 Typography Typesetting typesetting.psd 20 02/13/13
midnight
Workshop Site Mockup: Project 2, Version 2 workshop-site-v2.pdf 50
Workshop Site Design Defense workshop-site-defense.doc 10
6 02/13/13 Pattern & Texture Mood Board moodboard.xxx 10 02/20/13
midnight
Project 3: Movie Site v.1 movie-site-v1.pdf 70
7 02/20/13 Color Color Schemes color-schemes.docx 20 02/27/13
midnight
Project 3: Movie Site v.2 movie-site-v2.pdf 50
Movie Site Design Defense movie-
site-defense.doc
10
8 02/27/13 Sourcing Imagery Image Sourcing image-sourcing.doc 10 03/06/13
midnight
Restaurant Site Mockup: Project 4, Version 1 restaurant-site-v1.pdf 70
9 03/06/13 Using Imagery Photoshop Image Editing image-editing.psd 20 03/13/13
midnight
Restaurant Site Mockup: Project 4, Version 2 restaurant-site-v2.pdf 50
Restaurant Site Design Defense restaurant-site-defense.doc 10
10 03/13/13 Web Layout Patterns Responsive Web Layout responsive.zip 80 03/20/13
noon
11 03/20/13 Final Project Lab FINAL PROJECT final.pdf 100